This Speed Bag Platform Is Highly Recommended For Beginners


Amazon Rating: 4/5 Stars (301 Reviews)
Price: $95.92
Shipping Cost: Free
Weight: 25lbs
Dimensions: 25 x 25 x 4 inches
Speed Bag Options:  Beginner | Intermediate | Advanced
(The bigger the bag, the easier it is to hit. Smaller bags are for when you get better)

 

 

I actually got this as a birthday present last year and set it up in my friend’s garage. It’s fun and a good exercise. Practicing the speed bag requires consistency, so you can’t cheat! Also, as long as you’re consistent, you don’t need to train for more than 2 minutes per day. If you focus on rhythm and just be patient, you will absolutely see results. This is because the central nervous system in our brain only develops when we go to sleep. You can hit the bag for an hour everyday for a week, but you won’t see the same results compared to quality practice over a month because we learn day to day, not minute to minute. So take your time!

 

Pros:

  • Price is low for the quality
  • Professional and Removable Swivel
  • Stable Adjustment Knobs
  • Fairly Quiet (If you put a sandbag on top. I bought a 25lb bag from Lowe’s for $5)

Cons:

  • Setup requires two people
  • You need to buy your own lag bolts to secure into your wall (I bought 4x 5/16 by 3.5″ lag bolts + lag shields and washers from Lowe’s for <$5)

How To Hit A Speed Bag – It’s All About Rhythm


With the help of my friend, this speed bag platform  was set up in under an hour. I made the mistake of getting a medium sized bag first. This made it much more difficult for me to learn rhythm when hitting the speed bag. If you’re a beginner, start with a large bag and work down from there. Start hitting the bag by making large circles/ellipses with one hand. Then practice the same amount of time with the other hand. As you get comfortable, decrease the size of your ellipses. This makes the bag go much faster. It should feel as if your hand is kissing the bag, not hitting it. It should flow smoothly.

Hitting the bag with a consistent rhythm is crucial. In the beginning, you will naturally want to hit the bag in a jerking motion because hitting a speed bag seems very awkward at first. Remember to breathe and relax as you form your circles. I also recommend wearing some type of protection on your hands so they don’t get sore after a while.


Please leave a comment below, and have a good day!


26 Comments

Dani · September 15, 2017 at 2:22 pm

About a million years ago I took Taekwondo and my instructor was a speed bag master! I could never build the speed, but then again, I was young and too distracted to put in enough effort.

Fast forward to present day. I just started Taekwondo again and thought about that speed bag at my old dojang. I really want to get one for my home gym so I can practice and finally get good at it.

This is perfect for me because I didn’t want one that mounts to the ceiling. This one will work!

Thanks for the great post!

    Jack · September 16, 2017 at 12:11 am

    Thank you! Yeah this mounting feature is pretty nice.

Chris · September 15, 2017 at 3:03 pm

Hi

Great information on what looks like a fantastic and very innovative adjustable speed bag.

I like the fact that this product is both affordable and easy to setup. I have actually been looking for one of these in sports shops, but they always seem too expensive.

I like the price here and will certainly be considering one of these in the near future.

Cheers

    Jack · September 16, 2017 at 12:13 am

    Cheers brother!

Roy · September 15, 2017 at 3:04 pm

Always great to find a different way of exercising. Saw Ali hitting a speed bag once, absolute magic. Looks like a devil of a thing to construct though. Height must be just right I’d guess. Should it be at a reachable height above one’s head or is there a specific distance? And you say that it gives you a good workout, Jack? Was super finding your article. I enjoyed it.

    Jack · September 15, 2017 at 7:33 pm

    The bag should be at eye level.

    It gets the blood flowing, but it’s not as intense as a heavy bag session.

marta · September 16, 2017 at 3:45 pm

thank you for your review, I remember practicing it at a boxing gym, after 1 week I could notice an improvement, and it is exactly like you are saying,.. more kissing than hitting the ball. I have now the ball at home, unfortunately I haven’t been practicing:(( However you motivate me to do it again! thx!

    Jack · September 16, 2017 at 4:41 pm

    Thanks, that’s awesome!

Austin · September 17, 2017 at 2:32 pm

This is awesome! I have been wanting to get into boxing for a while now, but have not been able to find a good gym around where I am. I would love to pick this up with a couple of other things as well to try and start training by myself. I have tried to use speed bags a couple times, but have not done been able to get the rhythm down yet. Thanks for the review!

    Jack · September 18, 2017 at 9:06 pm

    No problem my man. Once you get the rhythm, that’s when you understand how fun it is.

Steve & Kris · September 18, 2017 at 7:37 pm

I use a speed bag at my gym, more of a change of pace for something different to add to my workout. I am considering putting one in my garage so I can teach my son how to use it as well. Everlast is one of the biggest names in boxing equipment, so I would definitely consider hanging this one up. It sounds like this is a good all around bag for an entry level user to more advanced. I like the fact that it’s adjustable. Are there different bags for more advanced training, or does it just depend on the weight of the bag? Thanks for your review, I will definitely consider this one.

    Jack · September 18, 2017 at 9:03 pm

    That sounds awesome! It’s not exactly the weight of the bag that matters, rather the size.

    Speed Bag Options:  Beginner | Intermediate | Advanced

    (The bigger the bag, the easier it is to hit. Smaller bags are for when you get better)

Jessie · September 19, 2017 at 9:19 pm

Great review. I had no idea that the size of the bags were relative to the users skill. I always believed that there was only one size for these bags. I like the idea that this promotes such concentration and patience, where most work outs want you to focus on power. This could be a great tool to anyone’s workout and fitness journey. Thanks!

    Jack · September 23, 2017 at 8:28 pm

    No problem!

Arie · September 20, 2017 at 2:27 pm

This looks like a good method of practicing your punches.

My cousin used to have a punching bag similar to this one and although I do not really practice moves often, I practiced with it and I could definitely use some improvement.

That being said, I think this product would benefit me if I were to try and improve my punching game for a low price!

My question is, how long have you used this for altogether?

    Jack · September 23, 2017 at 8:28 pm

    For about two years on and off.

Nik · September 21, 2017 at 5:40 pm

What an excellent reference for me to have for when I decide to get a speed bag for my personal gym. I’ve been wailing on the heavy bag for awhile but nothing replaces speed bag training. It will definitely be a welcome addition to the gym. Kudos for the write-up!

    Jack · September 23, 2017 at 8:27 pm

    Thank you. I’ll be writing more and more, so stay tuned!

BabyTuque · September 22, 2017 at 5:02 pm

Speed bags are such a great way to get a cardio workout while improving your hand-eye coordination. Plus, it doesn’t take long before your arms and shoulders start to feel the burn.
And you’re so right about it taking practice. It’s not as easy as the pros make it look. Have you progressed to a small bag now?

    Jack · September 23, 2017 at 8:26 pm

    Ha, no. I still just stick with the large bag. It isn’t at all like riding a bike.

Haider Khalid · September 23, 2017 at 1:20 pm

Nice birthday gift, I must say. Hehe
On a more serious note, how much time do you spend on average hitting the speed bag in one go? I reckon it is as good as any other exercise or workout that we do otherwise, please correct me if I am wrong 🙂

It is also a good option to release your tension or get rid of bad mood anytime. Hehe

I liked the advice that it should feel as if your hand is kissing the bag, not hitting it. Thanks for sharing!

    Jack · September 23, 2017 at 8:24 pm

    It’s more of a rhythm building activity than a hard workout. If you want a workout, I recommend doing it for 20 minutes after you get the rhythm down.

    Thanks yeah! It’s as if your hand is just lightly meeting the bag repeatedly. Kind of like dancing. The main focus of this exercise is building rhythm and timing, just like dancing.

Antonis Christonasis · September 24, 2017 at 9:46 pm

Hello Jack!

I just started boxing again after a really long break. In order to catch up, I’m determined to start training at home too. This product is exactly what I was looking for. Affordable and fairly easy to set up. I’m looking forward to purchasing it and sharing my thoughts on it!

    Jack · September 27, 2017 at 3:58 pm

    Thank you! Let me know how things go!

dreamgirl93 · September 25, 2017 at 2:51 pm

I used to take Taekwondo some time ago and I have to say that it was very effective! However, I didn’t put to much effort on it.

This week I started tacking Taekwondo again. I have bought one to use in my home and I will not drop out this time.

It works!

    Jack · September 27, 2017 at 3:56 pm

    That sounds like a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Follow by Email
Facebook
Google+
Google+
Twitter
Visit Us