Safety First! With The Best Punching Bags

I decided to make this post because I recently hurt my hand punching a boxing bag I made myself. I put a sandbag in a duffel bag and wrapped the bottom around with duck tape. It was free to make, and kinda fun too, but my left hand hates me now. I don’t recommend doing what I did haha. It was only a 25lb bag, but it was far too dense to properly absorb the impact. The corners were like punching someone’s elbow… again not recommended.
So let me recommend the best punching bags ever, Bad Boy Blue Aqua Punching Bags:

I’ve used this quite a few times at a gym I used to go to, and let me tell you, they feel the nicest to hit. The same impact or soreness that you can feel on your hands or wrist from several rounds on a regular dense heavy bag, totally disappears. They’re out of this world!

The most important point I want you guys to take away though is safety. If you switch from your standard heavy bag to the Aqua Bag, your chances of injury go drastically down. You will make mistakes every now and then in your form, especially if you don’t warm up properly, but your hands and wrists shouldn’t have to suffer because of it.

Make sure to fill the bag up with water after you hang it. We don’t want anyone getting hurt by lifting something too heavy.


They Feel Amazing!

What’s particularly awesome about these bags is the shape. On a regular punching bag, the shape is long and straight like the number one. So when you hit it hard anywhere but the middle, the energy bounces up and down and back and forth. This is called “making the bag dance.” However, it’s really annoying when you’re practicing uppercuts or lengthy combinations. Because the bag moves awkwardly, you usually have to steady it between each combination, or after every KO punch you practice. Don’t get me wrong, you will still have to steady the Aqua Bag, but because it efficiently absorbs the impact of all your blows, it just makes your general training go smoother. Plus it feels nice!

Check out Danny Garcia throw some KO punches on one of these things:

 


The smaller bag comes in a range of different colors, but I recommend going with the heaviest options (120lbs & 190lbs) because in my opinion, if the whole point of this bag is safety, then I may as well use it to increase my power as much as possible.

For Beginners: The other option (75lbs) will work just as well, and may be a better fit if you’re new to this.
Price Range: $100 – $180
Important: If you need a heavy bag stand to hang the bag, you can find one at your local Walmart/Sporting Goods store.

Please Comment Below For Any Questions/Opinions!


37 Comments

jessie palaypay · September 12, 2017 at 9:13 pm

I have seen these bags at many boxing gyms that I used to train at and they seem to be a popular option as of late.

I am wondering what makes these bags so durable as far as taking impact? I am somewhat concerned about the bag popping if that makes any sense.

    Jack · September 13, 2017 at 4:09 pm

    They’re made out of thick vinyl material, and their effectiveness in absorbing impact also increases their durability.

    That’s an understandable concern, but the material is pretty thick, so you’d have to take a large knife to it for it break.

- Bill · September 14, 2017 at 4:44 am

That homemade bag sounds awesome! Haha. Hope your hand is feeling better now my friend.

The technological advances in sports equipment always amazes me in every sport. Nice to see here that these bags are making it a lot safer, especially when thinking about the people just starting out who’s punching technique isn’t quite there yet. Plus the Aqua Bag looks sharp!

    Jack · September 14, 2017 at 2:15 pm

    Thanks haha.

    Yup! Totally agree.

Paul · September 14, 2017 at 9:09 am

Hey Jack,
The bags look great and the idea so innovative.About time somebody came up with a new idea over the old dinosaur of a thing we currently have to train with.It looks like a speed ball though so I’m a little confused about how it works.
Can you recommend a video or will you post one soon of an actual workout with one?
Cheers mate
Paul

roamy · September 16, 2017 at 12:25 am

Hello Jack
thanks for sharing your review on punching aqua bags,looks great,not the boring traditional punching bags.
I just have one issue that I hope you can clarify,how much impact can these bags take? I mean what is the durability and is there a chance of them just bursting?
Not that I have some Mike Tyson punch, ladies do not have that but I`d like to know as I`m sure I`ll not be the only one using it in my home.
You forgot to mention the price,how much do these punching bags cost?

    Jack · September 16, 2017 at 1:23 pm

    They’re pretty durable and there isn’t really any chance of them bursting if you are just punching even with all your body weight. The least expensive and smallest is $100. The medium-size bag is $150 and the largest is $180. The bigger the size, the greater the price.

    Check out this professional going to town on an aqua bag!

John Rico · September 16, 2017 at 2:37 am

Hello there! I’ve been doing workout lately, and I do it at home. I’m planning to add boxing to my workout and I’ll add shadow boxing into it. I think that adding a punching bag is a great equipment to add. I haven’t heard about aqua punching bags and I’m kinda scared to use it. Is it durable like does the bag last a while? Does the bag get holes easily?

    Jack · September 16, 2017 at 1:13 pm

    That sounds like an excellent addition to your workout!

    You definitely don’t have to worry about them popping at all. They’re made out of thick vinyl material. And since the inside is full of water, the bag can take blows very efficiently and effectively. Which not only makes your training smoother, but makes it so that your boxing bag lifetime is super long.

Dave · September 16, 2017 at 8:48 am

Funny thing, I hadlalso made my own bag with sand but I decided to check out better options after I saw how sore I got everytime I worked out with them.

It’s hard on your skin if when you use a regular bag for more than a week consistently. I am sure with the aqua bag I will be able to make things smoother, interesting and more fun.

    Jack · September 16, 2017 at 1:07 pm

    Definitely agree, especially if you don’t wear handwraps.

Angel · September 16, 2017 at 3:07 pm

Hey Jack, You know you have to wrap your wrist before you go punching things! haha. Anyways we learn from our experiences right. This Aqua bag looks cools and sounds effective for training. I’m in boxing mode with the big fight ,Canelo vs. GGG tomorrow.

Glad I found this article, I love experimenting with new equipment . I practice Muay Thai. I wonder if this bad can take a hard roundhouse?

Anyways take care and thanks for sharing.

    Jack · September 16, 2017 at 4:42 pm

    Haha I did! It was just that dense.

    You can definitely perform a high roundhouse kick on one of these. It would feel a lot nicer on your leg too.

Randene · September 16, 2017 at 10:17 pm

Hey, I just stumbled on to your post and was excited to see this. My husband and daughter both use heavy bags (one from the ceiling, one free standing, one for boxing, one for taekwondo). In any case, we’ve had irritations with both but have simply continued to use what we have. It sounds like the aqua bags (new to us) would provide a great alternative. Thanks so much for your review! Are they safe to kick? Any leaking?

    Jack · September 18, 2017 at 9:22 pm

    A high round house kick would be no problem on these babies! As long you only hit the bag haha.

    No leaking! These are made out of thick vinyl material. They can take damage.

Matthew · September 16, 2017 at 10:48 pm

I’ve been looking for something like this to put in my garage which I’m doing out as a bit of a gym for my son’s, they don’t really box but I thought getting a punching bag might keep them in shape and hopefully take it out on the bag and not each other, haha
Are they easy to install/put up or wold I have to get someone in to do it for me.
Cheers

    Jack · September 18, 2017 at 9:10 pm

    As long as you get a heavy bag stand (you can buy one from Walmart or your local sporting goods store), it won’t be a problem setting up. You have to fill it with water, so you may want to hang the bag first and then hang it.

Austin · September 18, 2017 at 3:21 pm

I love trying to make makeshift things like you did with the punching bag. It usually ends up poorly for me too. haha. But this aqua punching bag is awesome. I have been wanting to practice my consistency and this bag seems like it would help with that. It is a little more than I was wanting to pay, but I guess that is what happens with quality training bags.

    Jack · September 18, 2017 at 9:04 pm

    Yup! Cuz the value is life-lasting!

JohnB · September 19, 2017 at 7:16 pm

I used to box when I was a teenager but have pretty much given up. I remember my hands hurting after a few punches. I thought that it was a matter of training, but now I understand that the bag choice has an impact too. You are right about the weight. If it is about safety, better go all out with the most weight!

    Jack · September 23, 2017 at 8:29 pm

    Definitely!

Elias2017 · September 20, 2017 at 4:39 pm

Hi Jack,
Congratulation. You have provided an informative website and it can be beneficial for everybody to go through.
As I read your post about Aqua Punching Bag, I found it useful and it’s a sort of revolution for punching bags , especillay because you can take it anywhere and then fill it with water. However there is one point that you should consider water is not firm to make your hands strong.
Not only is it just a matter of hitting the bag but also it’s about the effect of the bag on your hand. Firm bags can help people have stronger hands.(F*dT=M*dV)
And then you have also mentioned about sand bags that they can be harmful and be dancing. they can be if you fill them with big pieces of stone but if you fill them with a mixture of soft sand and wood chips then you will get to the the point that how smooth and firm it can be. In addition to avoid dancing you can go for smaller bags or you should manage your impacts on the bag to avoid dancing.
Anyway I wish you succeed in your business.
Best regards, Hadi.

    Jack · September 23, 2017 at 8:28 pm

    Thanks Hadi.

Nathan · September 22, 2017 at 12:26 am

Not only do they work well, they also are stylish. I never like those punching bags that left your hands hurting for the rest of the week. Some would chalk that up to no pain no gain, but is it worth it. I just might check these out, thank you for your review.

    Jack · September 23, 2017 at 8:26 pm

    Thanks man! No problem.

Mat A. · September 22, 2017 at 8:43 pm

Jack,
Love your review on the aqua training bag. This is a totally cool and to me at least, new training bag. I have a gym at work I use several times a week that’s basic at best. I have a more robust gym at home that I like to use whenever I can, I can be much more serious there. In that gym I have a heavy bag that I use from time to time but to be honest, it’s lumbersome and to be honest, I don’t really like the dancing bag!
The aqua bag looks like it takes all the best part of using a training bag and removes most of the stuff we don’t like – such as hurt hands! Plus I really like the design. Love the review and the product – keep up the good work!
Mat A.

    Jack · September 23, 2017 at 8:25 pm

    Thank you!

Arie · September 23, 2017 at 5:14 pm

I really like the design of those punching bags. Although I have never been much into working out myself, I would totally give these a try if I wanted to practice my skills in punching.

I think It is also good to know that using it does not seem to make your hands feel sore because for me, my hands tend to get sore easily if I hit something slightly hard.

My question is, do you think the 120 lb bag would be best for me to go for if I am just starting out?

SamDal · September 25, 2017 at 2:39 am

Having just twisted my wrist punching a bag at my local gym, this was a welcome read!

Those punching bags are like hitting stone sometimes and I’ve always wondered why they make them so dense when an opponent’s body is 75% water!

I like the shape of these bags too, they are compact and if they provide a nice sweet spot when hit, then I don’t see why these can’t be the norm.

Do they last as long as sand punching bags from your experience?

    Jack · September 27, 2017 at 3:58 pm

    I have only used these bags for a year, but others say the water bags last longer.

Richard · September 25, 2017 at 9:29 pm

I was reading in a sports magazine that the punching bag is used for developing karate skills, boxing and helps build physical strengths and power in the arms and legs.
I think it’s a great way to let off steam if one is stressed at least you not doing any physical damage to some one who is giving you a tough time at work.

I would recommend this punchbag as part of an indoor gym for youngsters who learning self defence

Marquis Lee · September 28, 2017 at 12:49 pm

I really enjoyed this article and it was very helpful for me. I recently purchased a home gym system and I am looking to add the other parts that I need for my full body workout. Punching bag is something I have been looking into including into my home gym so I appreciate the information you have provided regarding the best punching bags to get. Thanks again

    Jack · October 2, 2017 at 2:47 pm

    No Problem! Yeah I think the punching bag is the single greatest piece of gym equipment ever. It has less chance of injury than lifting heavy weights and it’s way more fun!

Netta · October 4, 2017 at 1:30 pm

OOOH! Jack, what a great idea! Thank you!

Water is such a forgiving thing, and, for real, the idea behind any physical training is learning to be skillful at whatever you’re doing while not hurting yourself too badly in the process.

I also do like the stylin’ look of these things. So much better than the dull “thudliness” of the heavy standards.

Thanks for the great review.

    Jack · October 5, 2017 at 12:11 pm

    Haha thank you, yeah water is pretty awesome.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Follow by Email
Facebook
Google+
Google+
Twitter
Visit Us